Time to Shine by Supernova

The-short-of-it: With only three new songs, one of them less than a minute long, you’ll be disappointed.

take-a-fourth: Intro

Tracklist: 1. Intro 2. 그리운 날에 (On Days That I Miss You) 3. 라라라 (Lalala) 4. 그리운 날에 (On Days That I Miss You) – Accoustic Ver. 5. 그리운 날에 (On Days That I Miss You) – Instrumental 6. TTL Listen 2

 There’s really not much to say about this album, and saying this is significant given Supernova’s anticipated comeback from sojourns in Thailand and Japan. The intro is an R&B track, very much auto-tuned; but perhaps it’s because it’s less than a minute long that the synth becomes good. Decent riffing, a slow steady rap and a great beat might at least get you interested in the album. But it’s when their title track, 그리운 날에 (On Days That I Miss You), comes along that reveals a very nasally chorus that you might even want that autotune back. I liked the fast part of the chorus, and the singing of the first verse, but not much else. Sadly, even production was mediocre: the rapping during the bridge, for example, gets drowned out by the other sounds. The auto-tune comes back with a vengeance in 라라라 (Lalala), the more hiphop track, but it doesn’t make it for me. Of course, it’s mostly my taste that I like my rapping ‘pure’, so the way they put in that slight echo and synth during the rap parts in this song just made it cheap for me.

 So I choose to put off judgement on the group’s talents simply because there’s not much to be judged. But it was quite the disappointing album; I really didn’t need the two other versions of the title track and a remix of a previously released single as much as I needed another song.

Tracklist: 1. Intro 2. 그리운 날에 (On Days That I Miss You) 3. 라라라 (Lalala) 4. 그리운 날에 (On Days That I Miss You) – Accoustic Ver. 5. 그리운 날에 (On Days That I Miss You) – Instrumental 6. TTL Listen 2

Leave a Reply

